Honey Lemon And Tea Leaf Face Scrub

I know that I usually do the Food Recipes, but I thought that I would like to share with you a Recipe that uses things that you might have in your pantry that will help your skin. I love this Recipe because it brightens your skin and promotes skin cell turnover leaving your skin soft and smooth. I came up with this recipe a while back when I was younger and could not find a good brand in markets that did not break my skin out or make it red and blotchy. I remembered my grandmother using honey, lemon and ground seeds from fruit to use on her skin. She had such beautiful skin. I thought that If I can remake that and make more pantry friendly then I can have something that can help my skin and not break me out.
 
So I started messing around with different things and over several weeks I came up with this and although it does not sound like I spent weeks putting it together, but the way the ingredients pair with each other and help each other on rejuvenating your skin, works. The lemon removes the oily residue from your skin that you do not need. Honey soothes your skin leaving it soft and supple to the touch. The Tea Leaves perks up your skin and the caffeine and lemon zest brightens the look of your skin naturally. The Sugar gently exfoliates your skin removing dead skin cells and helps new skin cells form making your skin healthier and brighter. The Olive Oil  helps put natural and effective moisture back into your skin leaving it soft, smooth and moisturized.
 
Here are the simple ingredients you will need.
 
2 cups of Sugar ( granulated)
Zest of 1 Lemon
Juice of 1 Lemon
2 Tbsp Honey ( any flavor or brand will work)
1 Earl Gray Tea Bag ( cut and tea leaves removed – discard the bag)
1 to 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
 
(1) In a bowl add the sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice, honey, loose tea leaves and mix to combine well.
 
(2) Add about 1 or 2 tbsp of olive oil to just barely moisten the mixture. Use 1 tbsp at a time and add enough water to make a loose paste. The mixture should be thick and granular but wet enough to almost spreadable consistency. To much water and the sugar crystals will melt and it will be a sticky mess.
 
(3) Store in an airtight container. You can keep this beside your sink or keep it in the fridge, but let it come to room temperature before scrubbing your skin. I keep mine in the bathroom beside the sink so I can have it handy when I need it. I use it twice a week but you can use it up to 3 to 4 times a week if needed. I have sensitive skin and it does not break my skin out so I find it very helpful.
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. DIY: Sweet Winter Beauty Treatments | Kenetia.com
  2. 7 Kitchen Ingredients For Great Looking Skin

Leave a Reply

Quiet As It's Kept

One Introvert's Adulting Quest

The Social Historian

Adventures in the world of history

Travel with Pen and Palate

Discover your home town and the world

Ancestry by Heir Line - Blog Page

The professional genealogy and family history company with a proven track record and fast growing reputation across the globe. Be it local, national or international work, no project is too large or small. Family trees, old photograph restoration, heir hunting, tracing long lost relatives... and beautiful, personalised handbound books for your future generations to treasure forever. www.heir-line.co.uk

健康とフィットネス&栄養

About Food, Family and conversations

Roswensian

Motherhood, Allotment & Gin

Putney Farm

Get some good food. Cook it. Share with friends. Have a cocktail.

Savor the Food

"Food is the picture of 1000 words"--Chef Randall

Foodie Joanie

Cooking is not a science but an art; mistakes are okay, messes are fine--the pleasure is in the creating and the sharing of the result.~Lori Pollan

